Elizabeth I founded Trinity College, Dublin in 1592.

Queen's Colleges were founded in 1845 at Belfast, Cork and Galway.

Colleges of Higher Education for Women were founded in England from 1869 on.

London University opened all its degrees to women in 1878 and most other universities in England followed suit.

The Royal University of Ireland (1879) was an examining body. All its degrees and prizes were open to women.

Trinity College, Dublin admitted women to degrees in 1904 with limited access to facilities.

The National University of Ireland (1908) admitted women to all faculties in its colleges at Cork, Dublin and Galway.

contents index