Year Ireland UK Year
1832   Great Reform Act. The words 'male person' written into Act. Women can no longer vote. 1832
1867   Second Reform Act. John Stuart Mill's amendment to allow votes for women defeated. National Society for Women's Suffrage founded. 1867
1872 Isabella Tod founds Northern Ireland Society for Women's Suffrage   1872
1876 Anna and Thomas Haslam found Dublin Women's Suffrage Association, later called Irish Women's Suffrage and Local Government Association. (IWSLGA)   1876
1884   All male householders may vote. 1884
1887 CJ Parnell presents a petition for women's suffrage in the House of Commons   1887
1893 Foundation of the Gaelic League, the first organisation in Ireland to admit women and men equally.    
1897   National Union of Women's Suffrage Societies (NUWSS) founded by Millicent Garrett Fawcett. Non-militant suffrage group. 1897
1898 Local Government Act (Ireland). Women can sit on Rural and Urban District Councils and Town Commissions but not on County Councils or Borough Councils. Over 100 women elected the following year.   1898
1903   Women's Social and Political Union (WSPU) founded by Mrs Emmeline Pankhurst. Militant 'suffragette' group. 1903
1905 Sinn Féin founded. The name was devised by Máire Butler and women were admitted on equal terms with men.   1905
1906   Liberal government fail to grant votes for women.

WSPU militants disrupt Parliament. 11 women sent to Holloway Gaol.
1907   NUWSS 'Mud March' WSPU 'Women's Parliament' in London. 1907
1908 Irish Women's Franchise League (IWFL) founded.   1908
1910 General election. Irish Parliamentary Party hold the balance of power in the House of Commons. 'Black Friday' in London. Demonstrations end in violence and imprisonment. 1910
1911 Irish Women's Suffrage Federation (IWSF) founded. Irish Women's Workers' Union (IWWU) founded.   1911
1912 Irish Citizen newspaper published by IWFL. Home Rule Bill for Ireland introduced in the House of Commons. Most Irish Nationalist MPs opposed measures to give votes to women. 1912
1914 Cumann na mBan founded. Great War begins. Suffrage militancy suspended during the war. 1914
1916 Easter Rising Proclamation addresses 'Irishmen and Irishwomen' and promises 'equal rights and equal opportunities to all its citizens.'   1916
1918 General election after the war. Women vote for the first time. Constance Markievicz elected first female MP but does not take her seat in Westminster Women's suffrage granted to women over 30 who had certain property or other qualifications. 1918
1922 Irish Free State Constitution grants the vote to men and women over 21 years old   1922
1928   Women over 21 may vote. 1928
contents index